Father of the Year Logo

Reservation   home  event info about news links

Follow us!

Like us!



Our Mission
The Father of the Year Awards’ mission is simple.  Honor fathers and raise funds for children’s charities. 

Our event was founded in 1976 by apparel legend Sylvan Landau. Since its founding, the Father of the Year Awards has grown from a modest event with a few hundred people to an annual celebration of fatherhood.  At that first event $500 was raised to begin a trust for the Davis quintuplets, who were born to a Dallas family struggling to make ends meet. To date, the Father of the Year Awards has contributed almost $4 million for over 77 area children and family-related charities. 

The Father of the Year Awards is a 501 (c)(3) charitable organization governed by a volunteer committee comprised of business leaders from various professions throughout the Metroplex and beyond.

Our Annual Honorees
Each year, we continue the tradition of annually celebrating the accomplishments of three outstanding dads and what their own style of fatherhood contributes to the growth and encouragement of their children and the children of our community. 

We are proud of our impressive list of former Father of the Year honorees.  Each of our honorees share in the mission of charting a course for our children to reach their dreams and to help them build their bridge to a bright future.  We applaud their accomplishments. 

Sylvan Landau

Father of the Year Awards Founder and Apparel legend

Though we miss our founder, mentor and dear friend, Sylvan Landau, who passed away on May 9, 2010, at the age of 85, we cherish knowing that the legacy he leaves as a father to his family, through the Father of the Year Awards, numerous charities he has nurtured and profound impact on the apparel industry, will be long enduring. 

The Sylvan Landau Founder's Scholarship Award was established in 2010 by a seed grant from the Dallas Market Center to honor Sylvan and his lifetime of helping children, families and others in need in our community.  If you would like to make a donation to his scholarship fund in honor of Sylvan, you may do so by noting that with your donation sent by mail or by the "Donate" link on the home page (using the "special message for Merchant" box at checkout). 

Sylvan Landau


Our special thanks to Sylvan for his leadership and the legacy of philanthropy he has inspired.






























In 1976, the inaugural Father of the Year Awards Program helped the Davis family who had been financially challenged with the birth of quintuplets.

Father of the Year Awards Committee

Gregory W. Sampson
2014 Event Chairman
Attorney at Law,

Gray Reed & McGraw, P.C.

John O. Dix Jr.          Senior Vice President - Investments,                Wells Fargo Advisors, LLC   

Dan Garton
American Airlines (Retired)

Jim Krohn
Chief Financial Officer
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

Chad Lacerte
America's Cable Park Group, LLC  

Ralph LaRovere
Retired, Vice President of Merchandising,
JCPenney Company, Inc

Justin H. Lonon
Vice Chancellar, Public & Governmental Affairs, Dallas County Community Colleges

James Starke
DVP, Divisional Merchandise Manager - Menís Clothing, Furnishings & Accessories,
JCPenney Company, Inc.

Scott Murray
Chairman & CEO,    Murray Media

Jim Myers
Retired, Assistant Head Football Coach,
Dallas Cowboys

Bob Teeter
Madison Realty Investors

Cary Turner
Executive Vice President/CFO,
Pier 1 Imports

Jerry Walker
CHG Conference Hospitality Group

Bill Winsor
President & CEO,
Dallas Market Center

Sylvan Landau
Founding Chairman


© 2014 Father Of The Year Awards